Massachusetts CNA Certification and Licensing
Massachusetts CNA Program Basics
All certification training programs in Massachusetts meet the federal requirements for nursing assistant programs throughout all 50 states. The hourly length of programs depend on where the course is given- though all will be at least 75 hours in length and include both classroom hours and clinical or manual skills instruction. Some programs require that the applicants be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or GED.
Massachusetts CNA Training Requirements
The programs all cover: basic nursing procedures, infection control, ambulatory care (basic ambulatory therapy), patient rights, and in depth HIPPA coverage. Some courses may also include extensive memory care training, many residents of nursing facilities suffer from dementia and these extensions in programs are typically found in facility-based courses. Training for nurse aide certification can be found in Massachusetts’s community colleges, care facilities, and the Red Cross offers training as well. Students are responsible for training fees, unless an employer trains them.
Massachusetts CNA Examination Requirements
To become certified, a student must pass a two-part examination given by a state certified examiner. The exam consists of two parts, written and manual skills assessment. A student must pass both sections of the examination before certification can be granted. In the event that the applicant fails the exam, they may re-take it again after 24 hours. Failing the exam three times results in a need to re-take the entire training course.
Massachusetts CNA Certification Renewal
Re-certification in Massachusetts is every two years. A nurse aide may be reimbursed for their re-certification fee by their employer or the employer may opt to pay for the re-certification without the cna needing to make any payment. Some employers may complete the re-certification packet for the cna except for the portions required by law for the aide to complete personally. The state sends a notification that certification is about to expire some weeks before actual expiry. An aide must have worked at least 8 hours for pay in the past two years and when the new certificate is issued, two years is added to the last date of last known employment – not the date of renewal.
Massachusetts CNA Certification Reciprocity
Massachusetts does participate in reciprocity for CNAs transferring from another state. It takes about 15 days for the application to be reviewed and approved or denied. There is no fee for direct reciprocity, though the can must be in good standing on the registry in the state where they have an existing license. No convictions of neglect or abuse of a patient can be on the registry history of the transferring CNA.